This is the "Home" page of the "Law & Popular Culture Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 
Admin Sign In 

Law & Popular Culture Research Guide  Tags: law collection library  

Resources for researching Law & Popular Culture
Last update: Sep 15th, 2009 URL: http://libraryguides.kentlaw.edu/lpop  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

New in LPOP

Feel free to check out the new additions to the DTC Law in Popular Collection (LPOP), located on the 9th floor behind the circulation desk.

Click on any title to check its availability in the Library catalog.

 
 

Law and Popular Culture

How do movies or television shows affect how the average American views and understands the legal system?  Conversely, how has pop culture changed the way lawyers structure and present arguments? 

Research into the intersection between law and popular culture--not only the way the law is perceived but also how lawyers are perceived--is increasingly important in an age where Americans are both watching more TV and movies and filing more lawsuits.  This guide provides books and articles useful in researching law and popular culture, as well as resources to find other related information. 

Popular culture materials can also be effective tools in the classroom.  For example, a law professor might show My Cousin Vinny in class to demonstrate courtroom procedure, including voir dire, cross-examination and trial strategy.  The DTC library houses movies, including all 25 of ABA Journal's Greatest Legal Movies, and popular books written by lawyers or about the law, in the special Law in Popular Collection on the 9th floor.  Check them out!

Other Useful LPOP Guides

Other law libraries have published useful guides to researching law and popular culture.  Take a look at the following websites for more information.

  • University of Texas Law & Popular Culture Collection  
    The University of Texas at Austin houses one of the most extensive law & popular culture collections in the United States. Its LPOP research guides, including a lengthy bibliography on lawyers in pop culture, are equally extensive.
  • University of Washington: Law on TV, Video, and Film  
    A comprehensive guide on locating information about the law as represented in television and movies. This guide also contains information about documentaries and instructional videos, and even Court TV (now truTV).
  • New York Law School Visual Persuasion Project  
    The Visual Persuasion Project was designed to highlight the effect of the digital era on the practice, theory, and teaching of law. This section of the Project focuses specifically on law and popular culture studies.
 

Contact us

Eric Neagle & Maribel Nash
Contact Info:
IIT Downtown Campus Library
565 W. Adams St.
Chicago, IL 60061
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait