Foreign Law Treatises
- Constitutions of Dependencies and Territories
Call Number: K 3157 .E5 C66 [8th floor] - Constitutions of the Countries of the World - Albert P. Blaustein & Gisbert H. Flanz, eds.
Call Number: K 3157 .A2 C66 [8th floor]
Legal Systems of the World - Herbert M. Kritzer, ed.
Call Number: K 48 .L44 2002 [Reference Desk]
Comprehensive 4-volume set describing the legal systems of each country of the world, as well as U.S. states, Canadian provinces, multinational court systems, etc.
Guides to Researching Foreign Law
Often, reading a research guide before beginning a research project can be very helpful, especially when dealing with an unfamiliar area of law. Both the research guides below are useful starting points in the foreign law of many jursidictions.
Foreign Law: Online Resources
- CLEA: Collection of Laws for Electronic Access World Intellectual Property Organization's database of foreign IP laws.
- Constitution Finder This database offers constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents.
- Cornell Legal Information Institute: Global Law The LII collection of world legal materials gathers, country by country, continent by continent, the Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe.
- EcoLex A database collecting environmental legislation, case law, and literature from around the world, operated jointly by FAO, IUCN, and UNEP.
- Foreign Law Guide (DTC students, faculty, and staff only) Provides an overview of the legal history and legal structure of virtually every country of the world and provides citations and bibliographies for each country's legislation, regulations, and case law, and is hyperlinked to some official online sources.
- Global Legal Information Network The Global Legal Information Network (GLIN) is a public database of official texts of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations.
- Governments on the World Wide Web A source for locating official government websites.
- Institute of Global Law Includes translations of some foreign case law and statutes.
- International Constitutional Law A source for the constitutions of many nations.
- Law Library of Congress: Guide to Law Online, Nations of the World The Guide to Law Online is an annotated compendium of Internet links; a portal of Internet sources of interest to legal researchers.
- NATLEX An International Labour Organization database of national labor, social security, and human rights legislation.
- World Legal Information Institute A collection of websites that provide free access to case law, legislation, regulations, and in some cases secondary legal materials, such as law review articles, for hundreds of jurisdictions around the world.
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait