Quick Search BoxesSearch Tips: ArticlesSearch Tips: Books
Basic SearchingFind Books on the ShelfI know the author's nameI know the ISBN or ISSNI know the titleWhat do the results mean?
Find & Request Books OnlineMap of I-Share Libraries My Account - Renew Items Online
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
 

Get Books, Journals & More  Tags: library research basics  

Learn the fastest ways to get the sources you need, whether they're available at our library or another location.
Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://libraryguides.kentlaw.edu/getbooks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Search Tips: Books             Print Page
  
 

Getting Started

books iconBooks

If you need a book right away, this page shows all the services we provide to help you get it.

1. Local - search our shelves with the Library Catalog

2. Online - check if our ebook libraries has what you need

3. Request Online - use I-Share to get a book from 75+ Illinois libraries

4. More Libraries - try our Interlibrary Loan service

 

Google Books

Google Books has partnered with several major libraries and publishers to provide online copies of books.

Not all books are available for full view - some only allow limited previews or searches.

Google Book Search
 
 

Searching the Library Catalog

IIT Logo

The IIT Library Catalog provides a variety of search tools to help you find things quickly on our shelves or online. This index will take you to the information you need to get started:

Basic Search Options

  1. Catalog Quick Search
  2. Catalog Advanced Search

I'm looking for a book by...

What do the Results Mean?

  1. Browse Results - see the range of topics available
  2. Short Records - find the specific title you want
  3. Full Item Record - learn more about the title or find related items
 

Try our Ebook Libraries

Reference & General Topics

link to Sage eReference

60+ specialized encyclopedias on topics like business, economics, legal & political issues, or social science.

NOTE: This databases is provided through Galvin, the main campus library. You will need to login using the same username and password as you use for my.iit.edu - get your UID here or contact OTS for more help

Legal Research

Link to Making of Modern Law

Find pdfs of over 21,000 legal treatises from the 1800s and 1900s.

 

 

Link to Gale's 18th Century Collections Online

Original documents chronicling the development of law in the British Empire between 1701 and 1800

 

Free Sources

 

link to Google Book Search

Search for books digitized by major libraries and publishers. Not all include full text.

 

link to Project Gutenberg

Access to over 75,000 e-books, including classics of literature

Computer Science & Technology

 

link to NetLibrary

An e-book collection covering a wide range of academic subjects. (more info)

NOTE: For Netlibrary, you may be asked to create an individual account to get access to content.

link to Safari books online

E-books covering all aspects of computer science and information technology. (more info)

NOTE: This databases is provided through Galvin, the main campus library. You will need to login using the same username and password as you use for my.iit.edu - get your UID here or contact OTS for more help

 

Request books through I-Share

I-Share Logo

With 75+ libraries in Illinois participating, you have over 30 million titles available to request online or check out in person. See the I-Share tab above for more details, or choose a section of the guide here:

Requesting Books:

Manage your Account:

Back to Top

 

Send an Interlibrary Loan Request

mailbag icon

To help provide access to materials not available through IIT Libraries and I-Share we offer an interlibrary loan service to our faculty, staff, and students. This service is subject to several limits, since it is intended for academic purposes only. See the Interlibrary Loan tab above for more details about using this service.

Books are delivered through the mail and can take a minimum of two weeks to arrive, depending on distance and other possible factors. You can request renewals online, but we can't guarantee you will get them. Please return items promptly by the due date to avoid late fines.

 

book and pen icon

If you have a complete citation:

To make an ILL Request, you can login to our ILL Request Page using your Chicago-Kent e-mail or Stuart network login, or e-mail illreq@kentlaw.edu


paper globe and pen icon

If you need to find information about a book:

Worldcat is a library database that can search thousands of libraries around the world. It is available in any IIT Library and also off-campus.

After you do a search in Worldcat and are looking at the full description of an item, look for the "Get This Item" section at the top of this page and click on the "Borrow this item from another library" link to make an ILL Request:


ILL screenshot

 


 
Description

  Loading content... please wait