Quick Search BoxesSearch Tips: ArticlesSearch Tips: Books
Basic SearchingFind Books on the ShelfI know the author's nameI know the ISBN or ISSNI know the titleWhat do the results mean?
Find & Request Books OnlineMap of I-Share Libraries My Account - Renew Items Online
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
 

Get Books, Journals & More  Tags: library research basics  

Learn the fastest ways to get the sources you need, whether they're available at our library or another location.
Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://libraryguides.kentlaw.edu/getbooks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Search Tips: Articles             Print Page
  
 

Getting Started

documents iconArticles

1. Online - search our databases

2. Print - search our shelves

3. Request Delivery- try our Interlibrary Loan service

 

Want to Learn More?

journal icon

Our "How to Find an Article" guide has more search tips to help speed up your research.

 

Was this Helpful?

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 

Icon Credits

Icons used on this page were created by Simon Cook, Condurache Bogdan, and Aha-Soft.com and are used by the creators' permission.

 
 

1. Find Articles Online

If you know the journal or magazine your article is in, you may be able to find it right away. Our A-Z journal list makes it easy to check across our databases to see where you can get access to a magazine or journal (Includes Lexis Academic but not the password-based Lexis):

If you don't know the title of the magazine or journal, check with our librarians to get advice about the best place to start searching online: Ask a Librarian

You can also browse all of our library databases by topic at our Library E-Resources page to find a useful starting place.

 

2. Get articles in Print

You can search for magazines and journals available at IIT Libraries using this search box:

IIT Logo

Note: Check the "holdings" area at the bottom of the record to see if we have the issue you need on the shelf. See the Finding Journal Articles guide for more details.

 

world map

Do you need something quickly that isn't online or at our library? If you're willing to visit another library, you may be able to find it using I-Share or Worldcat.org. You may want to call the library first to make sure you can use their materials (you should have access to all I-Share libraries in person, but may not be able to use their databases).

 

3. Make an Interlibrary Loan Request

mailbag icon

To help provide access to materials not available through IIT Libraries, we offer an interlibrary loan service to our faculty, staff, and students. This service is subject to several limits, since it is intended for academic purposes only. See the Interlibrary Loan tab above for more details about using this service.

Articles usually take less time to arrive through interlibrary loan than books, but please factor in delays when making interlibrary loan requests (give yourself at least 10 days). Interlibrary loan articles are delivered as pdfs via e-mail.

 

binoculars

If you're starting in a library database

You can browse library databases by topic on our Library E-Resources page, or contact a librarian to find the best place to start your search: Ask a Librarian

When you're browsing a database, look for this button if the database does not have the full-text article. It will check other Library databases and offer a way to request the article via Interlibrary Loan if we do not have electronic access to it:

You can also check if we have the journal on our shelves at that link, or use this link to get to the interlibrary loan form:

 

book and pen icon

If you have a complete citation:

To make an Interlibrary loan, you can login to our ILL Request Page using your Chicago-Kent email or Stuart network login, or e-mail illreq@kentlaw.edu

NOTE: Law Review students should contact the Law Review staff person responsible for library relations before placing a request, if the request is for an article cite check.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait